Drove my Chevy to the levy, but the price was too high

Drove my Chevy to the levy, but the price was too high

My first car was a (very) used 1955 Chevrolet Bel Air with the small block V8. I paid $150 for it and fixed it up a bit. A couple of years later, it developed the Mother of all Oil Leaks and we had to part. Flash forward over 40 years and to the classic Car Show in Easton, Md. There were three similar cars fully restored. (One had a drive-in tray mounted on the window.) For a fleeting moment, I thought it would be fun to buy an old ’55 for nostaglia’s sake. It would be like Happy Days.
Then I got to talking to one of the owners who told me he got the car for about $9,000. A pretty good increase, I thought. Maybe I should have held on to it. Then the proud owner said he had put another $30,000 into it, (New engine, new upholstry, new bumpers, new chrome trim, new paint job, etc.)! So to recreate the thrill of my first $150 car, I would have to cough up almost $40K. Nostagia isn’t what it used to be.
I’m not sure what the moral to this story is, but I won’t be trading in my Toyota any time soon.

About johnreisinger

retired engineer and author of historical fiction and non fiction. My current book is Master Detective, the story of America's Sherlock Holmes and his involvement in the Lindbergh kidnapping investigation.
Image | This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

